skip to content

Centre of Development Studies


The following academics can be selected to be PhD Supervisors for applicants for 2021 entry

These academics are available for 2021 entry only. The applications window will re-open in September 2021 for the 2022 intake. This page will be updated to reflect change in staff availability for 2022 before the application window opens in September 2021.

Dr Ha-Joon  Chang
Director of the Centre of Development Studies
Reader in the Political Economy of Development, Faculty of Economics
BA in Economics (Seoul National University), MPhil, PhD (University of Cambridge)
Dr Graham  Denyer Willis
Senior Lecturer, Centre of Development Studies and Centre of Latin American Studies
B.A. (Toronto), M.A. (Royal Roads), Ph.D. (MIT)
Dr Shailaja  Fennell
Reader in Regional Transformation and Economic Security,
Department of Land Economy
Fellow of Jesus College
BA, MA, MPhil (University of Delhi), MPhil, PhD (University of Cambridge)
+44 (0) 1223 764048
Professor William  Hurst
B.A. (University of Chicago) M.A. (University of Chicago) Ph.D. (University of California, Berkeley)
Chong Hua Professor of Chinese Development